• 9/11 Victim Programs
  • Victim Compensation Fund (VCF)
  • WTC Health Program (WTCHP)
  • Wrongful Death VCF Claims

Understanding the Differences Between Group A and Group B Zadroga Act Claims

The James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act of 2010 was reauthorized in 2015. This was no small accomplishment. It took the commitment of thousands of individuals who were advocates for victims, first responders, and recovery workers effected by the September 11th attacks. The 9/11 attorneys at Turley, Hansen & Partner actively and proudly assisted the “Citizens for the Extension of the James Zadroga Act” in passing this important piece of legislation that provides benefits, treatment, and compensation to the thousands of individuals and families dealing with 9/11-related illnesses and losses.

The Reauthorization Act included several changes to the Victim Compensation Fund (VCF) program. One of the more important changes was the division of Zadroga Act compensation claims into two groups: Group A and Group B. Which group your claim is in will determine how and when you claim is paid.

Which Group is Your Claim In?

The dividing line between Group A and Group B claims is based on the date the VCF’s Special Master sent a final determination award to a claimant. You can determine the group your claim is in based on the following:

  • Group A: If you received a letter notifying you of the loss calculation decision on your claim and the letter was dated on or before December 17, 2015, your claim is in Group A.
  • Group B: Any claim that is not in Group A was automatically placed in Group B. That is, if you did not receive a letter dated December 17, 2015 or earlier notifying you of the loss calculation decision on your claim, your claim is in Group B.

What are the Differences Between Group A and Group B Claims?

If your claim is in Group A and an award of compensation was granted, you have likely received your compensation already. The VCF finished making all Group A payments in August 2016, except for those claims that have issues or deficiencies that have prevent payment.

Group A awards were calculated pursuant to regulations that the VCF published in August 2011. But the Reauthorization Act included changes to how compensation should be calculated for Group B and directed the VCF to issue new regulations to implement those changes. Decisions on Group B claims could not be made until the Special Master published the updated regulations explaining how claims will be processed under the new law and funding became available to pay Group B claims. The final regulations were published on September 2, 2016, and funding for Group B claims became available a month later. The VCF begin processing Group B payments on October 1, 2016.

The 9/11 lawyers at Turley, Hansen & Rosasco have recovered over $75 million in 9/11 victim compensation for over 1200 clients.  We are the only law firm in the nation that focuses exclusively on representing victims, first responders, recovery workers, and their families for their 9/11-related illnesses and injuries. If you have questions about Group A and Group B claims or need assistance with your 9/11 compensation claims, please call us at 1-855-WTC-INFO (982-4636) or fill out our contact form to schedule a free claim review today.